SUMMER TAKES LEAVE (A SONNET)

As earlier the moon begins to rise,
and sun sets in the peached and purpled sky,
so even birds and animals surmise
that fall is in the air — though slightly shy.

Don’t let her cool appearance disconcert,
for she can be as warm as amber‘s core.
Her sun, no longer brass, will toy and flirt,
as dazzling colors soon come to the fore.

As summer takes her leave, she bids farewell.
Yet I, for one, cannot feign grand despair.
She failed to cast on me her storied spell.
I’ll welcome autumn’s palette, and brisk air.

As summertime releases sultry hold,
I watch for autumn’s magic to unfold.
 
Marie Elena

3 thoughts on “SUMMER TAKES LEAVE (A SONNET)

  1. I do hear your sentiments, Marie, but I do not share them. I will miss summer. Here it did not take a graceful exit. It was here one day, gone the next. I fear it will not return. (Thank you for your nice comment in my blog one day recently.)

Leave a Reply

