OCZEPINY

A moment in time.
Tuxedo clad and my dad
gives up his “date” for the next dance.
Me, adorned with a monstrosity on my head.
A hat bearing fruit: apples, grapes,
a banana and two lemons astride it.
Very Suggestive, I couldn’t hide it if I wanted.
And my mother, moist from tears
that had replaced her make-up hours ago.
The music plays sad and sweet,
and my day is complete.
Mom puts her head on my shoulder.
A moment in time. Perfect.

** Oczepiny is a ceremony performed at Polish weddings. It signifies that the bride ceases to be a bride; she is now a wife.

Walt

4 thoughts on “OCZEPINY

Leave a Reply

