A SONNET FOR MY DAD (On this, his 80th birthday)

My father earned a living teaching youth.

He shared with them the music of his core.

He showed them how to honor life and truth,

And gave his time to all who graced his door.

My father is a man to emulate –

A man who holds to ethical ideals.

And even now, though years have slowed his gait,

They haven’t marred the crux of what he feels.

My father’s love is deep; allegiance strong.

His charity continues to abound.

He taught me well to judge what’s right and wrong,

To gather stars, while keeping feet aground.

And so it is I pen this gift through tears –

I thank my God for granting us these years.

Marie Elena

5 thoughts on “A SONNET FOR MY DAD (On this, his 80th birthday)

  1. “To gather stars, while keeping feet aground.

    And so it is I pen this gift through tears –

    I thank my God for granting us these years.”

    Tears indeed, my friend! This is outstanding and written truly from the heart. ❤ I love the photo of him, his eyes are lit with life! Thank you, Marie!

  2. Marie, tributes for Dad? No better poem I’d rather read. An achievement to be sure and very well deserved. Happy Birthday Dad! From one drummer’s offspring to another.

Leave a Reply

