WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MARIE ELENA

A writer. A comrade. A poet.
A friend and confidant.
Always there with the words I need,
or the support I want.
Star-crossed rhymers, meeting at a time
where neither was sure that poetry would cure
all that ailed our aching hearts,
but finding a nugget of truth
in the gems we penned and shared one April.
A genuine thrill to see she was reading me,
and me she. You see, right out we had doubts
that our muses could fit the bill. And still
we have times where that self-doubt flourishes
and nourishes our retreat from our precious poetry.
But it was she that brought me into focus,
this blooming crocus in Spring’s early journey
into rhymed reason. The right season to bloom.
Soon, we discovered that our commonality lay
in the mass of murkiness that masquerades as
a Great Lake, eerie in it’s coincidence.
In every incident, our stories intertwined,
one mind writing two different points of view.
Between me and you, she saved me as a poet
and a person, pulling as I said, from the gates
of a hellacious place in my life. Battling
a wife, and disease and the loss of a friend so dear,
she was always “here”. With a worded smile,
a comforting haiku hand on my shoulder,
and help lifting all boulders from said same.
In a name, “the best friend I’ve never met”,
you can bet I have been blessed. As you can see,
what’s not to love about our Marie?

Walt

4 thoughts on “WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MARIE ELENA

  1. “With a worded smile,
    a comforting haiku hand on my shoulder,
    and help lifting all boulders”

    I love how you’ve worded this, Walt!!

    …and “what’s not to love about our Marie?”

    There’s every little thing to love about Marie!! You’re right about her, Walt, a true treasure a kindred gem of a spirit.

    I’m so blessed by you both!!

Leave a Reply

