BELMONT AVENUE

She was a two-story, humble abode;
Up in years, but still
She wore white well.

I don’t recall the kitchen much
Before Dad’s home-made solid oak cabinets, and Mom’s
Fruit-dappled wallpaper with appealing colors
That showcased the oak.
I also can’t quite recall the walled staircase
Before Dad opened it up, and added an elegant
Curve.
Then there’s my bedroom, of which I have
No recollection, pre-
Flamboyantly pink flowered wallpaper
Of my five-year-old big-girl choosing, that
My parents tolerated, and my Grandpa
Patiently hung.

I’m quite certain her front porch
Had limited personality until
Our porch swing was hung
And summer nights meant staying up late,
Pajama-clad, swinging and singing
And chatting and waving
To neighbors that happened by.

While some things were lovingly changed,
Others were equally as lovingly allowed to just be.
There was the dining room wallpaper mural –
An elegant home
With winding creek and weeping willows,
Where I used to sit for hours,
Placing myself in such a charming and picturesque scene.

What I truly treasured about our home, though,
Was her setting –
Comfortably settled among the homes of
Loving aunts, uncles, and eleven cousins.

Marie Elena, wading in. 🙂

4 thoughts on “BELMONT AVENUE

  1. A pleasant surprise, glad the Lake still holds its allure.We had created two wonderful places to play poet. My belief? You never forget your roots! In case I haven’t said it in ages, I completely love your work and the effort you put into it. I appreciate your guiding hand alongside mine on the rudder of this ship (friendship) and hold you as dearly as anyone I’ve known all my life (and even actually met!) Twin cousins separated at birth? Yeah, I can see it!

Leave a Reply

