24:35

Tribulations await and the time
and place retain their mystery.
For in the history of this life we are
curious to the point of becoming furious
whether we will be heard; will our absurd
ramblings bring solace and peace
when the end approaches. It encroaches
on our sensibilities. And the abilities of
a learned man of words will be tested.
I will soon be bested and find my rest
in the passing of these numbered days.
And I will go the way of Heaven and Earth,
but for all that it will be worth,
I pray that my words too will stay.

Walt

One thought on “24:35

  1. Your title intrigued me, and came to make sense as soon as I completed devouring the poem. Ah yes … the book of Matthew. Wonderful piece from a poet whose words will remain in a poet’s heart.

Leave a Reply

