A MOTHER LOST

I come to these grounds of your rest;
the best I can do to be with you today.
The sky is unsettled, and dreams long
since dreamed land clumsily shattering
like glass. I rub your stone; an image
of your name in charcoal remains,
stains of a heart broken, this small token
of the life you gave me. I listen and murmurs
blown though barren tree branches
whisper, waiting for the axe to fall.
And all at once it vanishes. Memories
of a mother departed still close to heart.

(C) Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

THE SUNDAY WHIRL – WORDLE  #160

160

3 thoughts on “A MOTHER LOST

  1. I saw this earlier and didn’t know how to reply. I’m still at a loss for words, because I can’t imagine how hard each and every holiday is for you. Beautiful expression of deep love here, Walt.

Leave a Reply

