IT WAS SUMMER

Pool days, Daze of youth.
To tell the truth I miss that time.
I felt fine; felt alive, running with good friends,
relaxing on the shore late nights by the lake.
Memories take me back. It was summer.

Bare feet or flip-flops, we were non-stop,
under blue skies. We had our fun
where the green grass was emerald,
and the sweet tea was refreshing.
Life was hot! It was summer.

Star gazing as moonflakes shimmer
on the rippling surge of Erie’s offering.
Near the bonfires of passing time,
feeling as if I’m on permanent vacation.
This was my station. It was summer.

Neighbor kids had lemonade stands,
red solo cups filled with sunshine
elixir, a mixture of tart and sweet.
A nice retreat from the heat in the shade,
this day was made for it. It was summer.

Late lightning and thunderstorms,
fireworks of nature’s provision,
star-crossed hearts start each evening
with the hope of true love to coming to call.
All was all right at night! It was summer.

Backyard barbeques, sweet peaches
and watermelon. People sellin’ their stuff
as yard sales pop up along the street.
Mr. Frosty’s ring jingle made you tingle
for ice cream. A young man’s dream. It was summer.

Pool days, daze of youth.
To tell the truth I miss those times,
I felt fine. Mom and Dad were still alive.
Life was perfect despite our flaws,
all for the cause of family. It was summer.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

 

Added words: Lake, moonflakes, heat, shade

 

Written to Poetic Bloomings “An Entertaining Summer” – Day 22: WORDS, WORDS, SUMMER WORDS

Offered at dVerse Poets Pub – OLN #176

44 thoughts on “IT WAS SUMMER

  1. Summers are like that when we are young and the world is ours. If only that joy could remain…
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  2. Awesome lines here:

    Star gazing as moonflakes shimmer
    on the rippling surge of Erie’s offering.
    Near the bonfires of passing time,
    feeling as if I’m on permanent vacation.
    This was my station. It was summer.

    The summer of the world is an enjoyable fun.

    Excellent poem. 🙂

    • Summers always seemed available for everyone. Dad took vacation and moms a housewife, so her escape was much welcomed too. I remember this red steel cooler – Cola Cooler it was called and we tote that around for years. I think I even had it for a while when I got older! Those were great times! Thanks Grace.

  3. This is perfect. The part about flip-flops and emerald grass is my fave. You write songs, don’t you … some of this feels like a song.

  4. I loved summertime when I was a kid for all the reasons you wrote of and especially being out of school and having the days to while away and read lots of books. Brought back some fun memories, Walt…thanks.

  5. Wow Walter, you are such a pro! I could list so many favorite lines but I really loved “the bonfires of passing time.” Your repetition of “It was summer,” and “Pool days, Daze of youth.
    To tell the truth I miss that time,” really brings out a nostalgia of childhood summer feel – at least what it must have been like for many. Really beautiful!

  6. Star gazing as moonflakes shimmer
    on the rippling surge of Erie’s offering

    Can well picture the shiny and flapping water surface. Must be a beautiful scene rippling in the cool night skies. What fun of younger days, Walter!

    Hank

  7. The structure and word play is so well done, Walt! Ring, jingle, tingle – Perfect! I grew up on the shores of Lake Michigan, so you brought me right to the center of very similar memories – you do that so often! Bravo!

  8. This is a summer solo cup full of tangy-sweet nostalgia. Loved the loose rhyming scheme… I feel like that brought a playful sing-along vibe to the summery message.

Leave a Reply

